Posted on

possession of cannabis seeds texas

However, penalties for marijuana possession remain high, so you have to question whether this is a risk you are willing to take. In Texas, state law currently permits prosecutors to press criminal charges, most often misdemeanors for small quantities, against users of recreational cannabis. Fines increase in terms of possession – the more cannabis, the higher the penalty. People can be easily fined more than $1000 with added jail time depending on the amount. Possession of fewer than 56 grams can be punished with six months in prison and a $2,000 fine. Several influential politicians are currently calling for reform of the marijuana law.

Although heads of state are pushing for lawsuits, some Texans believe decriminalizing marijuana is the answer. Austin City Council member Greg Casar announced that he had a proposal for the city of Austin to stop prosecuting low-intensity marijuana cases. Mayor Pro Tem Delia Garza, Councilor Natasha Harper-Madison and Councilor Jimmy Flannigan also support the proposal. On January 23, the proposal will be presented to the Austin City Council meeting as agenda item 59.

What about penalties?

Cannabis is illegal in Texas and has been since 1931. However, there is currently some confusion. In 2019, the Texan federal government decided that hemp could be legalized, although marijuana could not, even though they grow from the same plant. Basically, marijuana is the part that contains THC – still illegal – while hemp contains cannabinoids or CBD, which are popularly used for medicinal purposes. In 2019, hemp was legalized in Texas when the state legislature passed HB 1325. The law came into effect on June 10, 2019, making cannabis with less than 0.3% legal hemp as THC, while anything more important is considered marijuana.

There are no separate growing laws in Texas. If you are found growing cannabis, it is classed as possession, unlike many other states, where growing laws carry separate penalties.

Texas is often thought of as a hot country, associated with cacti and other desert-loving plants. However, its climate varies widely, from arid in the west to humid in the east. So what are the best varieties to try if you fancy growing some illicit weed – sorry hemp to treat epilepsy – in Texas?

Marijuana tax stamps: This state has a marijuana tax stamp law enacted. This law mandates that those who possess marijuana are legally required to purchase and affix state-issued stamps onto his or her contraband. Failure to do so may result in a fine and/or criminal sanction.

San Antonio NORML
1126 W. Mulberry
San Antonio, TX 78201
Phone: 210-837-1133
Contact: Heather Brockus
Email: [email protected]

Possession of two ounces or less of marijuana is punishable by up to 180 days in jail and a fine up to $2,000. Possession of greater than two ounces is punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine up to $4,000. For greater than four ounces the penalty increases to 180 days – two years in jail and a fine up to $10,000. Possession of greater than five pounds carries a penalty of 2 – 10 years in prison and a fine up to $10,000. For greater than 50 pounds the penalties increase to 2 – 20 years in prison and a fine up to $10,000. For any amount greater than 2,000 pounds the penalty is 5 – 99 years and a fine up to $50,000.

** Unless previous conviction of paraphernalia sale or possession (if previous conviction, 90 days to 1 year). Paraphernalia sale to a minor at least 3 years younger than actor- State Jail Felony = 180 days-2 years; $10,000

The penalty for delivery, without remuneration, of one-quarter of an ounce or less is up to 180 days in jail and a fine up to $2,000. For delivery or sale of one-quarter of an ounce or less the penalty is up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $ 3,000. For delivery or sale of amounts greater than one-quarter ounce of marijuana the penalty increases to 180 days – 2 years in jail and a fine up to $10,000. Sale or delivery of greater than five pounds is punishable by 2 – 20 years in prison and a fine up to $10,000. The penalty for delivery or sale of greater than 50 pounds is 5 – 99 years in prison and a fine up to $10,000. For any amount of 2,000 pounds or greater, the penalty is a mandatory minimum 10 – 99 years in prison and a fine up to $100,000.

Repeat Misdemeanor Offenses:

Texas NORML, Inc.
3517 Bar West Blvd. PMB #205
Austin, TX 78731
Phone: (512) 585-3846
Contact: Josh Schimberg
E-mail: [email protected]
Website: www.myspace.com/texasnorml