Production or cultivation of less than two pounds of marijuana is punishable by 9 mos. – 2 years in jail and a $750 – $150,000 fine. For less than four pounds, the penalties increase to 1.5 – 3 years in prison and a $750 – $150,000 fine. Production of cultivation of four pounds or more is punishable by 2.5 – 7 years in prison and a $750 – $150,000 fine.
Possession or sale within 300 feet of a school, on any public property within 1000 feet of any school, at any school bus stop or on any bus transporting pupils to or from school adds an additional one year to the sentence and requires a minimum fine of $2,000.
Sale or delivery for sale of less than two pounds of marijuana is punishable by 2.5 – 7 years in prison and a fine of $750 – $150,000. Sale or delivery of two pounds or more is punishable by 4 -10 years in prison and a fine of $750 – $150,000.
Any person convicted of personal possession or use of marijuana is eligible for probation. The court is required to suspend the imposition or execution of the sentence. The person on probation is required to participate in an appropriate drug treatment or education program and may be required to attend a more stringent treatment program for a second offense. Persons convicted of a third or subsequent offense are not eligible for probation. Persons on probation must also submit to urine drug tests as a condition of their probation with the only exception being made for those who use marijuana under a prescription.
The penalties of possession for sale of less than two pounds of marijuana are 1.5 – 3 years in prison and a $750 – $150,000 fine. For amounts of less than four pounds, the penalties increase to 2.5 – 7 years in prison and a $750 – $150,000 fine. Possession for sale of four pounds or more is punishable by 4 – 10 years in prison and a $750 – $150,000 fine.
The possession of marijuana is a criminal offense. For possession of an amount less than two pounds the sentence can range from 6 mos. – 1.5 years and a fine of $750 – $150,000. Possession of two or more pounds but less than four pounds is punishable by 9 mos. – 2 years in jail and a fine of $750 – $150,000. Possession of four pounds or more is punishable by 1.5 – 3 years in prison and a fine of $750 – $150,000.
Possession and sale of paraphernalia is punishable by 6 mos – 1.5 years in jail and a fine of up to $150,000
Growers in Arizona will most likely want to germinate their seeds and grow their seedlings indoors during March. This allows you to keep the humidity and heat more precise when they’re at their delicate early stages of growth. Once they have grown up a bit, making them more sturdy, you can move their pots outside to enjoy the natural rays of the sun.
The new laws allow adults (age 21 and older) to possess up to one ounce of “flower” and up to 5 grams of concentrates. Perhaps best of all is that residents of Arizona can now grow their own marijuana as well with a Pot for Pot. Individuals can grow up to six plants at a time, with a household cap at 12 plants (for residences with 2 or more people).
Arizona’s had a medical marijuana program since 2010, with the passing of Prop 203. However, recreational marijuana was not allowed whatsoever. In 2020, Prop 207 changed all of that.
Growing in Arizona
That’s when you’ll find a Pot for Pot particularly useful. Designed for growing marijuana, it protects your plants’ roots against sudden changes in the desert weather, and helps you every step of the way from seed to harvest with step-by-step instructions and ongoing one-on-one grow coaching.
The main thing to consider when growing marijuana plants in Arizona is the dryness. Sure, it can be a challenge, but there’s also a lot of sun. The sun alone means marijuana plants have the potential for some top-notch THC development, but they need to be well taken care of to thrive. In the case of Arizona growing, that usually means finding a way to get additional water to your plants since natural precipitation alone will not cover it.
The only exception was the medical marijuana program, which was signed into law in 2011. 13 specific conditions could qualify a patient to legally obtain and use medical marijuana. For those not within 25 miles of a dispensary, growing was also allowed. There were many hoops to jump through, but since 2020’s vote, obtaining marijuana in this state is a lot easier.
In other words, the reality of growing and using marijuana in the state of Arizona has done a 180-degree shift. While it used to include the harshest penalties in the country, now it has a legalized system that many other states will envy.